Wall Township, (NJ)- Andrew Krause of Holmdel made his Sunday birthday a little more special by winning for 40-lap main event for Modified stock cars at Wall Stadium Speedway Saturday night. It was the defending speedway Modified champion’s second straight win in two starts on the young season.

Despite posting fast time in qualifying, Krause started 8th after a draw for starting spots. Brick’s Dom Fattaruso looked strong in the early going before Manasquan’s Kenny Van Wickle took over the top spot in the outside lane on lap eight while Krause was advancing into the top five.

Van Wickle continued to lead the race past halfway when a jumble of cars pushed Fattaruso into the high groove and out of second place. Eddie McCarthy of Brick and Krause then took up the chase of the leader before the top runners touched in turn one on a lap 33 restart and Van Wickle and McCarthy spun from contention and Krause took command.

Krause then powered on to the win with Blake Barney of Jackson second and Tommy Martino, Jr. of Farmingdale advancing to third. Steven Reed of Jackson, whose team struggled to replace a motor in his No. 55 in the pit area before the race, advanced from last on the grid to finish fourth and Fattaruso earned fifth.

Glenn Slocum, Jr. of Navesink missed the night’s event after the throttle stuck wide open sending his car hard head on into the third turn rail. Fortunately, he was not injured.

Manchester’s Scott Riggleman, who has raced in several race car divisions on both paved and dirt surfaces, earned his 100th career feature race win in the companion Factory Stock feature race. After taking the lead on lap two, Riggleman held off defending champion Elliot Wohl of Beachwood for the win. Tom Rajkowski of Fords, Bryan O’Shea of Neptune and Freehold’s A.J. Jadacki wrapped up the top five.

Second year racer Billy Pross of Hazlet jumped to the lead early and stayed strong to the finish to win the Fast 4 25-lap main event. Alonzo Morales of Burlington chased Pross all the way before Darianne McLaren of Edison took over second in the closing laps. Sal Liguori of Hazlet and Farmingdale’s Ian Ashford completed the top five.

After crashing heavily on opening night, Jarret DiGiantomasso of Jackson returned to win the 25-lap Sportsman feature race while Mike Carr of Pt. Pleasant was second by inches. Carsten DiGiantomasso of Jackson, Edison’s Neil Rutt III and opening night winner Jake Nelke of Manahawkin were third, fourth and fifth.

Waldwick’s Quinn Trimmer was a first time winner in the 25-lap main event for the Legend Cars topping early leader Joe McGrath of Brick. Mason Magee of Denton, Maryland, Colin Milroy of Southampton and defending champion Peter Bruno of Little Silver were third through fifth.

The 2021 Saturday night regular season continues this Saturday (May 8) evening with the Modifieds, Factory Stocks, Fast 4 cars and Legend Cars in action as mothers and grandmothers are honored with a special discount grandstand admission on Mother’s Day weekend. Grandstands will open at 4:30 p.m., qualifying starts at 5:30 p.m. and main event action starts at 7:00 p.m.

Current plans call for Saturday night racing action to continue through early October with schedule details at wallspeedwayracing.com.

Wall Stadium is located on Route 34 in Wall Township, N.J., just one mile north of Garden State Parkway exit 98 and Interstate 195 exit 35B. The speedway hotline number is 732-681-6400 and email address is ckmotorsports@aol.com.


MODIFIED FEATURE – 40 Laps – 1. ANDREW KRAUSE, HOLMDEL, 2. Blake Barney, 3. Tommy Martino, Jr., 4. Steven Reed, 5. Dom Fattaruso, 6. Kenny Van Wickle, 7. Jack Ely, 8. Joey Merlino, 9. Derek Hopkinson, 10. Chris Andretta, 11. Eddie McCarthy

FACTORY STOCK FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. SCOTT RIGGLEMAN, MANCHESTER, 2. Elliot Wohl, 3. Tom Rajkowski, 4. Bryan O’Shea, 5. AJ Jadacki, 6. Billy Both, 7. Doug Ashford, 8. John Carpenter, 9. Joe Mongeau, 10. Kevin Flores, 11. Nick Catone, 12. Gary Burton, 13. Matt Badessa, 14. Gregg Moench, 15. Nick Kilmer, 16. Nancy Riggleman, 17. Scott Purcell, 18. Theresa Collins

FAST 4 FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. BILLY PROSS, HAZLET, 2. Darianne McLaren, 3. Alonzo Morales, 4. Sal Liguori, 5. Ian Ashford, 6. Sean Vuksanic, 7. Alex Graetz, 8. Michael Avery, 9. Ryan Maher, 10. Cody Critelli, 11. Kayleigh Sharry, 12. Chris Hankins, 13. Nicole Razzano, 14. Greg Veil, 15. Deanna McLaren, 16. Darren Burdge, 17. Richard Smith

SPORTSMAN FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. JARRET DIGIANTOMASSO, 2. Mike Carr, 3. Carsten DiGiantomasso, 4. Neil Rutt III, 5. Jake Nelke, 6. Kevin Davison, 7. Rob Anderton, 8. Ryan Fisher, 9. Jimmy Wolcott, 10. Dave Bailey, 11. Chris Silvestri, 12. Jeffrey Loesch, 13. Teddy Cranmer

LEGEND CARS FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. QUINN TRIMMER, WALDWICK, 2. Joe McGrath, 3. Mason Magee, 4. Colin Milroy, 5. Peter Bruno, 6. Roger Nickerson, 7. Lianne Sharry, 8. Matt Verlangieri, 9. Phil Bogdan